The Australian National University
Australian Institute of Physics 16th Biennial Congress 2005
Printer Friendly Version of this Document
invitation letter to exhibitors and sponsors

Dear Colleague:

It is our pleasure to invite you to participate in the Sponsorship and Exhibition opportunities of the Australian Institute of Physics Congress 2005, to be held at the Australian National University in Canberra from 31 January to 4 February. The Congress coincides with the 2005 World Year of Physics, celebrating 100 years since Einstein’s discoveries. To highlight the Canberra venue and the many contributions of Physics to this country, the Congress theme will be Physics for the Nation.

This promises to be the largest ever gathering of Australian Physicists. The 2002 Congress attracted 600 participants, and the 2005 Congress will be even bigger given the participation for the first time of almost all Australian Physics-based societies. Among other world-leading researchers, we will proudly host two Nobel Prize Winners: Steven Chu (1997) and Tony Leggett (2003).

An outreach session will feature outstanding Australians with a background in Physics, who have made important contributions to society. We will also run a “Physics in Industry” session in which companies will pose practical problems requiring a Physics solution. A highlight of the Congress will be the conference dinner, which will be held in the splendid Great Hall of Parliament House.

The Congress venue has been arranged to ensure maximum exposure for our Sponsors and Exhibitors. For example, the conference Exhibition will be co-located with the poster sessions, the morning and afternoon teas and the Welcome Reception. These and other details including the Sponsorship and Exhibition brochure can be found in the conference brochure:

We look forward to seeing you at Australia’s largest ever Physics Congress in January 2005!

Yours sincerely,

Dr. Ken Baldwin, Congress Chair       Prof. Hans Bachor, Program Chair